Is Horse Meat Back on the Menu?

horse-burger-2_2452857b

Horse walks into a bar. Barman says ‘sorry mate, we don’t serve food in here’

The horse meat scandal has dominated the British media for much of the past few months. While horse meat is not harmful and is eaten in many countries, it is considered a taboo food in the UK. However while the media has enjoyed making a big fuss over the scandal, besides the odd back joke, the general public’s reaction can be summed up in one word: “meh”.

For most, the news that ready meals do not contain what is labelled is as surprising as finding out that they look nothing like the picture on the box. Furthermore it seems most do not seem bothered that they may have consumed a horse burger or two. The biggest annoyance has been the bad jokes that seem like they’re never going to go away.

With public opinion being one of indifference and disinterest, we at Scrummy Yummy have decided that it’s time to sample this forbidden food. It’s time to see if horse should be back on the menu.

A number of phone calls and few google searches later and it seems that horse is actually quite difficult to get hold of. The only supplier we found was one operating through Amazon and so we have had had no choice but to order our meat in the mail. Mmmm… posted meat, can’t wait!

So, that’s it, the horse steaks have been ordered and are on their way. As soon as they arrive we’ll get them cooked and let you know the verdict. If you would like to take part in our horse meat experiment, horse steaks can be ordered from Amazon here.

If you have any suggestions of horse steak recipes, let us know!

Buy horse meat steaks from Amazon

18 thoughts on “Is Horse Meat Back on the Menu?

  1. Pingback: Idiosyncrasies of the French | Penne 4 Your Thoughts

  2. Sure beats burying or cremating the horse—sort of a giving back, a recycling kind of thing.
    It wouldn’t worry me aesthetically; but I would draw the line at monkey (although I think I’ve had it, many years ago) and people-burgers are definitely off my list* . Soylent Green too … good lick with the experiments.

    * But we never actually know, do we? Mislabel a horse, why not … anyone still a ‘missing person’ in the UK?

  3. 1st of all, thank you for following my blog: Goddess on the Go! 2nd: I never thought I would eat horse meat. However, when I chose to go to Kenya, Africa for 31 days in college, I had to transition back to an omnivore after being a vegetarian for a couple years, and promise to eat whatever was served to me. One of the last nights we ate at this restaurant in Nairobi called, “Carnivore.” The catch of the day included zebra, and to this day, it was the most delicious, melt-in-your-mouth red meat I have ever had in my life, and that was nearly 20 years ago!

  4. Actually – horse meat is legally sold in Canada. In fact – we’ve cooked with it. It was ok – I’m not rushing out to get more – but it was ok. The biggest problem we had with it was the fact that we served it at a Napoleonic Re-enactment event – and some of the people joining us for dinner were Calvary! They said it tasted like eating “Lucy”. Bottom line – never name your meat…

  5. Hi, Joe–and thank you for following my myth/hiking/poetry blog!

    Your post on horse meat is thought-provoking. One reason consuming it may be problematic is that at least in the U.S., racehorses (which make up a large percentage of the horses sent to slaughter) are routinely dosed with the anti-inflammatory drug phenylbutazone (“bute”), which is kidney-toxic in humans. I suppose food-safety agencies need to sort out how to test and regulate for this issue if horse meat is to become a significant food source for people (instead of for cats and dogs).

    I may be posting a few photos this month of my own horse, Rose. She’s not for sale.
    : -)

  6. I remember on my study abroad several years ago, a friend of mine from Italy said he had had horse steak in a restaurant back home in Milan. I know they don’t slaughter horse for food here- my old college town shut down a slaughterhouse that did as soon as the law was passed. I would imagine that Genie is right- most non-beef red meat tastes like lean beef. Most animals other than cow don’t get all fattened up before processing. I saw that you read my venison roast post, but it goes for all the cuts we got from our deer. Elk, bison, antelope, and big horn sheep are the same I’m told. Even wild bear is supposed to be quite lean.

    • That’s a great site. Thanks for the resource. I think I may have to work my way through the whole list!

      My vote would be for Zebra. Don’t ask me why, I just think it’ll be a really nice meat.

      I’ll be waiting to see which you choice though and how you get on.

  7. Horse meat is popular in Southern Japan, Kyushu-Island. People in Japan usually eat it as Sashimi. Yes, raw meat with soy sauce… I’ve tried horse meat many times, however, I’ve never tried cooked one yet. I’m looking forward your update 🙂

    • Wow! Never thought to eating it raw but I think I may be adventurous enough to at least try a bite or two with soy sauce. Thanks for the recommendation. I’ll let you know how I get on.

  8. I think I’ve tried horse before. If it was horse, I remember it just tasting like a very lean beef. How do you think you will cook it?

    After your meat arrives, I’d love to invite you to a link party called Our Growing Edge.

    Our Growing Edge is about new food experiences, especially foodie bucket lists. The event aims to compile a monthly snapshot of new foodie experiences and aims to connect and inspire us to try new things.

    A “growing edge” is the part of us that is still learning and experimenting. It’s the part that you regularly grow and improve, be it from real passion or a conscious effort.

    More info can be found here:
    http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge
    or the link party here:
    http://www.inlinkz.com/wpview.php?id=258061

    I hope you can join us.

    Genie

    • Hi Genie,

      Thanks for the invitation to the Growing Edge. It looks like a great idea and would definitely be interested in taking part.

      I’ve heard the same about it being just like lean beef but I’ll have to wait and see.

      I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to cook it yet but I have been recommended to try it raw with soy sauce. A popular southern Japanese dish, apparently.

Leave a Reply

